still on crochet…

The crochet roses I was making the other day have started something… Once I’d finished making roses in every colour under the sun (well, not quite, but I made a fair few) I started making dishcloths.

kittencrafts_washcloth1

I love making dishcloths, there’s nothing like the instant crochet satisfaction I get from whipping up a few and, being so repetitive, it’s the perfect thing to make while sitting in front of the TV while the hubby watches football. These I started in front of the TV last night, but got tired and went to bed… The sun was out again today so I took them to my other ‘workshop’, the garden…

kittencrafts_washcloth2

I got a surprise kitteny visit too 🙂

kittencrafts_washcloth3

 

My favourite dishcloth crochet stitch is one I learned from a friend of mine, I have no idea what it’s called, or where it came from, but it turns out gorgeous, textured, soft dishcloths that look rather spiffy.

My dishcloths are made from cotton yarn, using a 3mm hook, and go a little something like this;

Chain 40

1/           (dc, ch2, sc) into the 4th chain from hook, *skip 3 chains, (2dc, ch2, sc) in the next chain.* Repeat from * to the end of the row.

2/           Ch2 and turn your work over (dc, ch2, sc) into the first ch2 space of the previous row then (2dc, ch2, sc) in each remaining ch2 space to the end of the row.

3/           Keep making rows until your cloth is square then, to make a hanging loop, chain 15 and slip stitch to secure. Finish off by weaving in your ends and voila, dishcloth sat-dish-faction!

kittencrafts_washcloth5

You can use these little beauties as washcloths too, they are sooo soft and lush on your skin! I make them in batches of three and usually have few in my stash for last minute gifts. Fold them nicely and tie a bow around them = instant gift! Just make sure to include washing instructions if you’re gifting them.

As a side note, if you want more ‘scrubbiness’ try making these from acrylic yarn and corresponding hook.

2 thoughts on “still on crochet…

Leave a Reply

