A holder of pots…

kittencrafts_potholder3

I wandered into my favorite department store last week and picked up these rainbow-y yarns. They are specifically called pot holder yarn so i thought, why not? I’ve never crocheted a pot holder, why not start now? And as a bonus, if there’s any yarn left I can make more mini owls 🙂 I used the one on the left for this project.

kittencrafts_newyarn

I didn’t have a pattern for this, I just went for it. I figured I wanted a round pot holder with a hanging loop, which couldn’t be that hard to make without a pattern, right? Well it wasn’t, but I should have counted my stitches better (I’m not great at that unless I’m following a pattern).

Starting with a magic circle, I made 7 rows (rounds?) of double crochet, increasing in each row (round?). I just started making rows and stopped when the circle was bigger than my hand. This is what I ended up with.

kittencrafts_potholder1

As I mentioned before, I really should have counted my stitches because when it came time to join the circles together one had slightly more stitches than the other (oops), so I fudged it 🙂

kittencrafts_potholder2

You can’t tell unless you look really closely, but it’s a lesson learned for next time.

Anyhoo, I ended up with a lovely, thick, cotton pot holder, that can double as a heat pad or trivot or whatever you call those things you put under hot dishes on the dining table. Not too sure I’m loving the colors in this yarn but it will brighten up my kitchen if nothing else.

4 thoughts on “A holder of pots…

  1. I never heard of this yarn, is it 100% cotton? Your right the colors are a little bright, the pot holder turned out good for not using a pattern and I can’t see where you fudged it, which I’m sure we all have done at some point, lol. It is a good idea to keep a pad / notebook and pen close by you to write down the design as you work on a new pattern, sometimes a hard lesson to learn if its something you really liked and wanted to make again, I know I’m sure a lot of us have made this mistake also, now I keep one by me even if I’m working on a printed pattern (I like to change them up sometimes).Thanks for sharing with us! Sherry

    • It is 100% cotton! it’s some German brand! I think. I know I should’ve written down what I was doing, ah well, I’ll know better next time. And it’s only a pot holder for me but if I make any more I’ll choose a slightly less colorful yarn and count my stitches. Thanks for visiting Sherry 🙂

Leave a Reply

