Wrapping…

kittencrafts_wirewrap

This is my first ( and possibly last ) attempt at wire wrapping anything… I’m a little excited because it worked!! I also can’t quite believe that I managed to pull it off – Yay me!

I’ve had this stone pendant for a while now and never really knew what to do with it. I’ve tried incorporating it into other bits I’ve worked on and it just never looked right. Then, of course, I started blogging and came across loads of super talented jewelry artists who wire wrap stones and that gave me an idea for this particular pendant.

Now, I’m HOPELESS with wire, but I had a bit in my stash so I got onto YouTube and found this tutorial, which seemed simple enough for me to follow and tried it out. AND IT WORKED!

Mind you, I have a few more scrapes on my hands now, and I used a few not so ladylike words while I was wire wrangling wrapping, and the back is really rather messy… but I did it!

As fun as this was, and as much as I like my finished pendant, this wire wrapping shenanigans definitely isn’t for me… From now on, if I want a wire wrapped something I’m going to buy it from a professional, and save my hands, and nerves, for seed beads.

13 thoughts on “Wrapping…

  1. It turned out great for your first attempt at wire wrapping, and I love that stone pendant its beautiful glad you were able to use it in a way that it can be seen by others, it would be a shame to hide any of its beautiful.

  2. This looks wonderful! At least you get something beautiful and wearable after all the hard and frustrating work!!!

  3. For the first time… would never have guessed!! (: Good job!! I love the colours… to die for with a wooden neck strand or two… Haha I agree wiring Is definitely a character tester :D. The smaller the pliers the easier… my favourite is the needle nose, going by the youtube video… the one she uses is too thick for me… Hope that helps. Michael.

Leave a Reply

